Saving in ‘The Cloud’

As I'm sure you know, teachers generate a lot of 'paper work' (as do most other professions). We need to have access to this work in a variety of different situations, especially if like me you have to teach in 4 different classrooms (sometimes all in one day) and also at home. I used to use USB sticks, I had a fantastic one that I could wear as a bracelet, but then cloud computing arrived.

I can now access all my computer files from home by logging into the school network. But sometimes you want to have your own virtual USB stick (and I'm sure you can already see where this post is going) and that's where cloud storage comes in.

There are a variety of different options available, from the well known like Dropbox, to the relatively new Google Drive, even Microsoft's Skydrive. But all of them enable you to save your files in the cloud, and access them just about anywhere (as long as you have internet connection).

I am not going to analyse which cloud storage if the best, there are many review sites that can help you (I found this one, which was very interesting). I use Dropbox and Google Drive (as I have quite a few Google Docs). Both of these have apps, in fact most cloud storage sites have associated apps.

Just by doing a search on the app store for 'cloud storage' gives you 108 potential apps. But if you wanted a short cut, here are the links for Dropbox, Google Drive and Skydrive.

One reason why I like Dropbox is that it links in to so many of my other apps. My main PDF reader (Goodreader), my current planner (Teachers Attaché), even one of my document creators (Quick Office) all save files through Dropbox. You can also share folders with other people, something I found very useful when I was developing a new project for school.

But the main thing I like about cloud storage – you can't lose it or damage it (unlike my poor bracelet USB that had an unfortunate altercation with a pan of boiling water in a food lesson). Just make sure you don't forget your password!

 

6 Responses to Saving in ‘The Cloud’

  1. sharechair says:

    What a valuable post! I just had a long conversation about this with my son. He is a professor at a major university, and his computer storage is critical. He has massive research projects with boatloads of data, presentations for conferences of this research work, and of course, powerpoint presentations for lectures for the courses that he teaches. At a recent conference I remarked about the catastrophe that a loss of his work would be. He then talked about cloud storage and how this has lifted the worry of a possible loss. No matter what happens to any device, his work is always updated and secure and accessible no matter where he is in the world.

    • kati10705 says:

      I agree that it has lifted the worry. Something else I quite like is the ability to share folders with other people within your cloud storage. For example I have shared one of my food technology projects with some other teachers, and they can use the resources in that one folder within my Dropbox.

  2. Dropbox is really my favorite solution since your data is also saved locally and you can access, manipulate and back it up even if you are not connected to the internet. Also sharing files is just as easy as it could and should be!

  3. iNotes4You says:

    Hi Katie

    Is there any app in the App Store supporting cloud access which does not support Dropbox? It seems to get the standard cloud. Unfortunately there are only 2 GB free space and no WebDAV support. The missing WebDAV support is the biggest disadvantage as you cannot save Apple’s iWork documents directly to Dropbox to keep all your files together.

    • kati10705 says:

      I agree that there are limitations, however you can increase the space you have. For example, using the ‘sync your photos’ to Dropbox box gives you extra space and you can always remove the pictures without losing the added space.

      I currently have 4.2GB in my Dropbox due to using little upgrade tricks like this. I think another one was having a friend join Dropbox.

Leave a Reply

