Interactive Whiteboards (Part 1)

Now that I have managed to get my iPad to connect to my whiteboard (see my post about HDMI and VGA connections), I wanted to use my iPad in lessons more. Usually I would use an interactive whiteboard software, as well as PowerPoint on my computer, so I wanted an app that could allow me to write on the board during class. I am already using Keynote on my iPad instead of PowerPoint.

I have been collecting whiteboard apps for a while (I wait until they are reduced or free) and amassed quite a few to try out.

I started off with Doceri, which also have a computer desktop program that allows you to link iPad and computer together. I only have the basic iPad app at the moment. The iPad app is free.

It was relatively easy to put my sides together. You can import pictures, change background and have a variety of pens and shapes you can use. The main disadvantage is that you can't add type to the page, quite frustrating when it is hard to write anything other than giant words on the page!

It was easy to annotate my pictures and simple notes during class, and my pupils were quite amused to see words appearing on the whiteboard while I wrote on the iPad with my finger!

When using the app version, you do get a 'Doceri' watermark on each page, which can be removed with in-app purchase.

You can export your slide show into PDF and also a screencast video, as everything you do is recorded (you can even add audio if you want to).

Will I be using it again? Maybe – if they introduce the ability to also type on the slides, otherwise I can't have as much information on the screen as I would need.

 

One Response to Interactive Whiteboards (Part 1)

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Regardless, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

