Making Videos

This week my Year 10s (first year of GCSE) started designing for the first time. As I repeated my lesson on how to draw things in 3D for what seemed like the millionth time, it occurred to me that the pupils might find it useful to have this demonstration available to see again.

The previous day I had some pupils ask if they could video what I was demonstrating with their phones, so they could look at it later (we were going through setting up and using a Brazing Hearth, which if you are unfamiliar with the name is basically a giant jet of flame used to heat metal)

So armed with my iPhone, I decided to make a short movie showing my drawing demonstration again.

Here is the video I made, it’s been upload to my YouTube channel. I set this up to showcase the pupils work, as they often make videos when they have finished their project, to show how the product they made works.

I used iMovie to make it. And I was surprised by how easy it was.

I videoed 4 short demos for the various sections, it is a bit wobbly but it’s quite hard holding a phone in one hand while drawing with the other! I inserted a keynote slide for the changeovers and finally added a voiceover to explain what I was doing. (My colleague is adamant it sounds nothing like me! Maybe I had my ‘telephone voice’ on).

I wait to see if my pupils find it useful, but I am considering making more videos of demonstrations I repeat every year.

2 Responses to Making Videos

  1. sharechair says:

    Eventually you’ll have a whole library. Wonderful! (I like your voice …. considering I don’t know you in person, I think it sounds just like you. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

