The joy of marking (and some new tools!)

After a hectic half term, and some ongoing sagas with living in a new property (not least of which the fact that my postcode does not yet exist in lots of companies databases, which makes online ordering quite entertaining!), I’m back!

This week, after a recommendation from a colleague, I got a new stylus for my iPad. Apart from one tiny (though one might say quite big) problem, it is making marking work on the iPad so much easier.

This is my Adonit Jot Pro, it is the most accurate stylus I have found so far. This is why:

The writing tip of the Jot Pro is a clear disc with a 4mm metal circle in the centre. This makes it incredibly easy to see where on the page you are writing. Plus it feels like a normal pen as it has the right weight! There were lots of reviews on Amazon warning that it scratches the iPad screen when you use it. This was the main reason I hadn’t bought one already. But my colleague, who had been using his for a while said he hadn’t experienced any problems. (You can probably see where this is going!).

So my pen arrived, and I started using in conjunction with an app called iAnnotate PDF. This app is amazing (it was £6.99, but I think it is worth it). You can link it with a variety of cloud services, but is also does WebDAV so I could open documents directly from my school documents. I could easily open my pupils (very large) PPT projects as PDFs, so I could mark them.

This is one of James’ pages on his 15 page PPT, as you can see I have already been annotating it with comments for improvement. For any Resistant Materials teachers out there – don’t worry this isn’t the real controlled assessment (in which no feedback is allowed), it is a mock controlled assessment we do in Year 10 (in which I give lots and lots of feedback!).

When I finished marking it, it was very easy to email the finished PDF back to the pupil. From the feedback my pupils have given me this week, they found it really useful.

However, as I was marking the 7th project I heard an ominous sound. The stylus had scratched my screen (it was a tiny scratch, but it’s still a scratch!). I should point out that I do work in a very dusty, dirty environment and despite regularly cleaning my iPad screen, it is invariably covered in wood dust. I suspect some of the dust has caught under the plastic disc and been dragged along the screen causing the scratch.

So I was faced with a dilemma. Do I stop using the stylus (which it’s easily the best stylus I had found so far), or do I find some way of protecting the screen?

I opted for the second option, and after doing some research decided to buy a Mediadevil screen protector. Amazingly, it arrived the next day. So now my iPad looks like this:

And I can finish my marking!

3 Responses to The joy of marking (and some new tools!)

  1. sharechair says:

    So good to see you, again! You always (almost) make me wish I was still working so I could apply the things you suggest. 🙂 Congrats on your new home!

    • kati10705 says:

      Thank you. It is interesting moving from a large family house (with 3 generations living together) to a little 2 bedroom flat with just myself and my daughter.

      You don’t realise how much stuff you shared, until you try and open a can and find you don’t own a can opener!

  2. […] The Joy of Marking … […]

Leave a Reply

