Revision – Games

We are now well underway into revision time with my GCSE class one of the things my pupils need to be able to do it identify tools and machines. They need to know what it is called, and what it is used for. There are a lot of tools and machines in my subject! Although they will have used most of them over the course of the 2 years, they still find it difficult to associate the right name with an image.

So I get them to play matching games at the start of the lesson. It only takes about 5 mins, and they get quite competitive with each other.

It is a very simple game to make, there are 3 cards for each tools. One has the picture, one the name and one a description. I’ve laminated them so they last longer.

I’m sure you’re wondering by now why I am posting about this, surely this blog is all about the use of technology in the classroom! After the pupils have finished matching (and got them all correct) I remind them to use their phone to take a photo of the tools they struggled to match (making sure all 3 cards are in view). That way they have a photo flash card to revise from later. My pupils last year informed me that this was quite useful once they were on study leave.

Another thing they can do is download the matching game from our intranet, so they can make it at home (it’s arranged so that the squares are already matched on the sheet). As you don’t have access to our intranet, I have uploaded the games to Dropmark. So if you would like a copy for your class (or just for fun) you can find it here.

2 Responses to Revision – Games

  1. My Website says:

    Hello there, I do think your web site could possibly be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in
    I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you
    with a quick heads up! Apart from that, great website!

    • kati10705 says:

      Thanks for letting me know. I have recently changed blog editor to try and fix a ‘pictures being to small’ issue, I’ll have a look at my blog in I.E and see if I can fix the overlapping issue (I’ve only seen it in safari and chrome).

Leave a Reply

