Some Organisation

My Year 11s are about to go on study leave, which means 3 things. First, I've prepared them as much as I can, provided them with resources (both in paper form and on the intranet), its now up to them to revise in which ever way they prefer. Second, invigilation season is soon going to be here (I find invigilating incredibly tedious, but it needs to be done). Third, I don't have scheduled lessons with my year 11s any more (which gives me some 'free' time), so I can start planning for next year.

Because my subject is very project based (after all, the best to learn how a mortise and tenon joint works is to make one), I spend most of my summer term (and start of the holidays) perfecting the projects I want to run the following year.

This involves lots of planning, making one (to see if it is pupil friendly), costing the materials used, writing schemes of work and making all the resources to go with the project. Each year I try and update at least one year group project. Last year it was my Year 9 project, in which we make an MP3 speaker. That is now working well, so it can stay the same for next year.

This was my example project from last year

So this year it is the turn of my Year 10s. We spend most of Year 10 doing mini making projects, as most of them have not really used the machines in the workshop. So I want to introduce a mainly metal working project.

I am currently in the planning stage, scribbling down various ideas on whatever is to hand. On my iPad I have quite a few notebook apps (I download them when they are free, I really should have a purge at some point).

 

My favourite one is Penultimate. This notebook is really good, partly becuase it works really well with my stylus (the Adonit Jot Pro) and also because it syncs with Evernote.

These are my current scribblings in Penultimate.

I am not a dedicated Evernote user, I don't sync every single note I make to it. But in this case it is useful, I can note down my ideas, and because it syncs to Evernote I can then show other people on my iPhone or their desktop computer via the Evernote website. Very useful when you want to get people's comments on the current thinking.

 

I've started making the first prototype of next years project, I'll let you know how it goes!

 

2 Responses to Some Organisation

  1. sharechair says:

    I wish I was a student in your class! Your planning and enthusiasm must make you an awfully popular teacher. Culture Gap Alert: I never ever ever heard of “invigilation season”. I had to look up the word to see what it meant. See? We all learn from you! 🙂

    • Katie says:

      I’m sure you found the answer!
      Invigilation is when we have to watch the pupils taking their exams (to make sure there is no cheating, everyone has paper etc).
      We have to walk around watching the pupils (often in quite stuffy exam halls). No reading, devices etc. It is very boring, but fortunately we only have to do 35min sessions (as long as our relief invigilation turns up on time).
      I tend to do quite a lot of origami while I am invigilating!

Leave a Reply

